Charity Golf Day Success

On Wednesday 8th September 2021, Rudding Park hosted the Henshaws Charity Golf Day, generously sponsored by Berwins Solicitors.

As the sun rose over the greens and began to burn off the early morning mist, the team at Henshaws knew it was going to be a beautiful day for a round of golf. The weather was smiling on the 20 teams who had kindly signed up to take part in our very first, post pandemic event! It was to be the largest golf day that Henshaws had ever hosted, raising over £11,500! Much needed money, which will help us to support people living with disabilities to go beyond expectations.

The excitement started to build as the bacon sandwiches were served from the Rudding Park Clubhouse. Then the first teams began to tee off on the short Repton course before moving on to the full Haw tree course. The competition was strong!

The rest of the teams then set off thick and fast, as the sun continued to beat down on the beautiful Yorkshire countryside on the outskirts of Harrogate.

As the players came off the 18th, we wrapped up the day was with a delicious BBQ and networking event. Everyone waited patiently for the scorecards to be totalled, and for the winners to be announced.

The winning team of 4 smiling for the camera

Cardale Asset Management Team 1 (pictured) won the 2021 Henshaws Charity Golf Day and received a huge bundle of beer kindly donated by Roosters, Harrogate Brewery and Turning Point Brewery.

Our best player Simon Blake (9xb) won a four Ball sleeve from Rudding Park.

Our longest drive Alex Bacon (Cargill Sweeteners Manchester) won a four Ball sleeve from Rudding Park.

Our nearest the Pin: Won a bottle of Slingsby Gin.

We are excited to announce the date for our 2022 Charity Golf Day as Wednesday 28th September 2022, Teams and sponsorship are available to reserve and to book.

Book your 2022 Golf Day
Table filled with raffle prizes that were on offer on the day.

The results:

Position Team Points
1 Cardale Asset Management

– Team 1

95
2 9xb 93
2 Vocalink 93
4 Centrica 92
5 Berwins 91
6 Cardale Asset Management

– Team 2

90
6 Cargill Manchester 90
8 Gallagher Insurance 88
9 Stephenson Control 86
9 Harrogate Town AFC 86
11 Lupton Fawcett Solicitors 86
12 Cargill Coca & Chocolate York 85
12 ENGIE 85
14 Schofield Control 84
15 Beever and Struthers 82
15 Nexus Vehicle Rental 82
17 Esprit 79
19 Steve Jones 77
19 Studley Engineering 77
20 Cargill Cocoa & Chocolate Speke No score entered
The Berwins team

Extra special thanks go to our title sponsors Berwins Solicitors (pictured) and our Hole Sponsors:

  • 9xb
  • SPX Architects
  • Burendo
  • Berwins Solicitors
  • Cargill Sweeteners Manchester
  • Homes Together
  • AJ Recruitment
  • Centrica
  • Studley Engineering
  • Esprit
  • Rathbone Brothers plc
  • Sarisin & Partners
  • Schofield Sweeney

Golf Day Prizes, both for the raffle and auction made a huge difference to our overall income. They were kindly donated by:

Alexander Muir  www.alexandermuir.co.uk/

Betty’s of Harrogate   www.bettys.co.uk

Cargill Manchester www.cargill.co.uk/en/home

Castle Howard  www.castlehoward.co.uk

Cedar Court www.cedarcourthotels.co.uk

Centrica www.centricabusinesssolutions.com

David Lloyd Harrogate www.davidlloyd.co.uk/clubs/harrogate

Doubletree Hilton Majestic Hotel & www.hilton.com/en/hotels/lbahadi-doubletree-harrogate-majestic-hotel-and-spa/

Duck In at Hotel St George   https://bespokehotels.com/st-george-hotel

Experience Days Ltd   https://www.experiencedays.co.uk/charity-scheme

Greggs Bakery   www.greggs.co.uk

Harrogate Brewery https://harrogatebrewery.co.uk/

Harrogate Spring www.harrogatespring.com

Harrogate Town AFC www.harrogatetownafc.com

HRH Group   www.hrhgroupharrogate.com

Light water Valley www.lightwatervalley.co.uk

LNER www.lner.co.uk

Otterbeck Gin Distillery https://www.otterbeckdistillery.co.uk

Red Letter Days    www.redletterdays.co.uk

Roosters  https://www.roosters.co.uk/

Rudding Park https://www.ruddingpark.co.uk

The Ivy Harrogate   https://theivyharrogate.com/

Turning Point Brewery https://www.turningpointbrewco.com/

Slingsby Gin https://www.spiritofharrogate.co.uk/

We can't do it without you

Henshaws rely on voluntary donations; our work just wouldn’t be possible without people like you. Your support empowers local people living with sight loss and a range of other disabilities to increase their independence, achieve their dreams, and go beyond expectations.

Donate now

More news like this